Wide or out?

Ask the UmpireWide or out?
Kevin Staff asked 3 years ago

A bowler bowls a very wide ball, way off to the offside of the pitch. The batter lunges at it and gets an edge and is caught by a slip fielder. The fielding team appeals for the catch; the batter claims it is a wide. What is your decision?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 3 years ago

Out, caught. Even though the umpire would have called a wide, the batter’s actions brought the ball within his reach, enabling him to hit it. However, the umpire must be certain that the ball did not slip out of the bowler’s hand. In that case he should call ‘dead ball’ and the batter is not entitled to hit it. Note: a wide can never be called if the batter hits the ball.