Wide Ball?

Mel asked 2 years ago

In a limited over game, the Umpire calls a Wide Ball as batsman sweeps and appears to miss the ball. The ball rolls past the WK and batsman take a run. But WK claims that ball hit batsman. The batsman (who has now crossed over to NS end) admits it grazed his glove. Should you reverse the Wide Ball decision based on these confirmations by WK and batsman?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 2 years ago

You are not required to reverse your call but it would be sensible to do so. Run or leg bye? Do you accept the batsman’s word and give him the run or do you play safe and signal leg bye?