Substitute fielder (icc laws)

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsSubstitute fielder (icc laws)
Arpan Bose asked 9 months ago

Hi,
I am Arpan and I have a question to ask you.
At first let me apologize for my previous question .I submitted it by mistake before  writing.
The ICC laws state that a substitute may be allowed only in cases of injury ,illness or other wholly acceptable reasons.It does not tell about any spefic type of injury .So 
(1)Can a player be allowed to have a substitute fielder for both internal (like muscle pain or cramps) as well as external injury ?
The laws also state that a substituted player can be allowed to bowl immediately on return only in cases of external injury or other wholly acceptable reasons.
(2)Does that mean a player suffering from illness (such as fainting due to the heat) or internal injury (such as cramps or muscle pain)can be allowed to have a substitute but can’t be allowed to bowl immediately on return ?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 9 months ago

Dear Arpan Bose

  1. Yes, as long as the umpires are convinced that the injury is genuine.
  2. Yes, in these circumstances, these players would not be allowed to bowl immediately on return to the field if they have been off the field for more than eight minutes.