Stumped or dead ball?

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsStumped or dead ball?
Kevin Staff asked 3 years ago

A batter is hit on the pads and the fielding team appeals for lbw. The umpire declines the appeal. The batter is standing just out of the batting crease adjusting his gloves. Noticing this, the wicketkeeper removes the bails and appeals for the stumping. What is your decision?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 3 years ago

The batter is out, run out not stumped,  but before you give your decision, ask the fielding captain if he wishes to continue with the appeal. The fielding team may decide in the ‘spirit of cricket’ not to continue with the appeal.