Stumped off a cap?

Ask the UmpireStumped off a cap?
Kevin Staff asked 3 years ago

A batter advance down the pitch to a slow bowler and plays a sweep shot. He misses and the ball flicks off his pad, strikes the wicketkeeper’s cap and deflects on to the stumps with the batter out of his ground. The fielding team appeals for the stumping while the batter claims he can’t be out because the ball hit the wicketkeeper’s cap. What is your decision?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 3 years ago

Out, stumped. If the wicketkeeper had been wearing a helmet it would have been not out. Caps and helmets are treated differently in the laws of cricket.