Short run allowed?

Ask the UmpireShort run allowed?
Kevin Staff asked 2 years ago

A team is nine wickets down, needing ten runs to win. An opener who has already scored a century is batting with a very poor number 11 batter. The pair run two, but the star batter deliberately runs one short to ensure he gets back on strike. Do you allow the one legal run?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 2 years ago

No, you disallow the run and the batters return to their original ends. If you believe the batter has deliberately run short you should warn him. If the action is repeated then award five penalty runs to the fielding team.