runout

Ask the Umpirerunout
john asked 4 months ago

If a bowler during his runup sees that the batsmen at his end is out of his crease can he run him out before he bowls the ball.

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 4 months ago

Yes. Law 42.15 in the MCC laws of Cricket say the following:
The bowler is permitted, before entering his delivery stride, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over.
If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon possible.