run-out-query

Ask the Umpirerun-out-query
Brett asked 10 months ago

In today\\\’s game while fielding a wicket keeper caught the ball one handed in this right hand and then swung into the stumps for a run out. However the contact point with the stumps was his right elbow not the glove containing the ball. The batsmen was given out. some spectators agreed while others argued the gloved hand contains the ball had to contact the stumps to effect the run out. Was the batsmen out or not. Cheers Brett

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 10 months ago

Hi Brett
The batter is out. See law 28 1A V “or (v) by a fielder with his hand or arm, providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used.”