Run out – hit batsman

Ask the UmpireRun out – hit batsman
Rob asked 5 months ago

The ball was struck to a fielder, who threw it in but missed the stumps. 
The running batsman jumped to avoid the ball but in doing so the ball struck the batsman’s foot and deflected onto the stumps while the batsman was out of his ground. 
The fielding side appealed and the batsman was given out. 
Is this correct? 

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 5 months ago

Hi Rob
Yes, the batter is out, unless he/she had already made his/her ground and was jumping to avoid the ball. The batter being hit by the ball in play doesn’t constitute a ‘dead ball’ situation.