Ask the Umpire



Had an interesting thing happen during a match where you thought the cricket umpire may have got the decision wrong or you just want to ask a cricket umpire to settle an argument with friends? Are you unable to find the answer to an umpiring question when looking through the law book or your competition playing conditions?

Here is your chance to ask an active cricket umpire.

Here are a couple of examples:

Q: A bowler bowls an above waist-high full toss wide of the batter who reaches for the ball and edges it to first slip who takes the catch. The fielding team appeals for the catch. The umpire replies not out and signals no-ball as the ball was above waist-high. Should the umpire give the bowler a formal warning that if he bowls another above waist-high delivery he will be removed from the bowling attack?

A: No, as the delivery was not threatening the batter’s safety. Imagine a rectangle drawn around the batter. If the delivery is inside that imaginary rectangle then the ball would have threatened the batter. In that case a warning should have been given to the bowler.

Q: In a 50-over match the team batting first (the home team) is bowled out in 36 overs at 2.25pm. The playing conditions state that a lunch break of 30 minutes is to be taken between innings. The 50 overs is to take no more than 3 hours 30 minutes to bowl. Play begins at 12.00pm. The home team supplies lunch for the players and umpires. The captain of the home team informs the umpires that lunch is not ready and demands that the visiting team must start its innings and bat until 3.30pm when lunch will be taken “at the normal time”. The visiting team captain disputes this as it means his team’s innings will have two starts and therefore is unfair. Do you agree with the home captain’s demand?

A: No. The lunch break must be taken between innings no matter what time the first innings finishes, nor whether lunch is ready or not.


Ask the UmpireCategory: Questions
Sorry, but nothing matched your filter