Out after bails are dislodged.

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsOut after bails are dislodged.
Dawie asked 7 months ago

The bowler bowls and while standing up the wicketkeeper dislodges the bails. After this the batsman is bowled with the ball hitting the stumps. Is the batsman out.

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 7 months ago

Hi Dawie
No, the batter is not out ‘bowled’ as the bails were not dislodged by the ball. An alert striker’s end umpire will call ‘dead ball’ as soon as the bails are dislodged, hopefully before the ball is bowled.