Rod asked 1 year ago

Hello, I had a no-ball hit towards the boundary, it was caught in bounds and then thrown up in celebration and the ball went over the boundary. Upon reflection I called no-ball and 6 runs.
Was this correct or should I have called no-ball and then dead ball?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 1 year ago

What a tough one, especially if it was the last ball of the match and the batting team needed six to win.
The fielder was not aware that no-ball had been called so should not have been penalised for his catch celebration. I believe the correct decision should have been “no ball one run plus any runs completed by the batters’ rather than no-ball and six.