last-batsman-injured

Ask the UmpireCategory: Questionslast-batsman-injured
Martin asked 4 months ago

On Saturday the oppositions last man top edged the ball into his head meaning he required first aid treatment. Our players and their umpire took this to be the end of the oppositions innings however the opposition captain is now contesting the result.  Can you clarify the rules on this?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 4 months ago

Hi Martin
If the injured batter was unable to continue batting after first-aid treatment then he/she would be recorded as ‘retired hurt’. As the last pair were at the wicket this would end the innings.