Hit the ball Twice

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsHit the ball Twice
Subhash asked 7 months ago

Ball after hitting the striker nearly falls on the wicket, when the striker intentionally hits it too hard (while he could have just tapped the ball using his feet or bat), which finally goes to the boundary.

  1. what would be the decision of the umpire. Is it out? Can boundary be scored
  2. had the wicket keeper approached the ball, when the ball was hit the second time, can his appeal for obstructing the field be upheld?
1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 7 months ago

Subhash

  1. Not out. No runs can be scored
  2.  No, the batter is lawfully entitled to hit the ball twice to protect his/her wicket.