Coach

Paul Wilson asked 5 months ago

If a batsmen bats out of his crease and is well known for this, the bowler bowls the ball and the batsman misses it. The wicket keeper takes the ball and flicks it too first slip who runs in and runs the batsmen out because he has not yet moved from outside the crease. Is he out or is this deemed a dead ball or is this not in the spirit of cricket?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 5 months ago

Paul
The bowler’s end umpire has to decide if the ball was dead by the keeper’s action of flicking the ball to first slip. If not, then the batter is run-out. This would not be against the spirit of cricket; it is the batter’s responsibility to maintain his/her ground.