Changing guard

Ask the UmpireChanging guard
Kevin Staff asked 3 years ago

A right-handed batter changes grip and stance to left-handed and plays a sweep shot, missing the ball which hits his back pad in front of the stumps. The bowler appeals for lbw. The ball pitched outside the batter’s leg stump when he was in the left-handed stance. The batter claims he can’t be out because the ball pitched outside his leg stump. What is your decision?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 3 years ago

Out, lbw. As the batter was in a right-handed stance when the bowler began his run up, this is the stance that the umpire takes into account when considering the lbw appeal.