Can you over-rule your umpiring colleague?

Ask the UmpireCan you over-rule your umpiring colleague?
Kevin Staff asked 3 years ago

You are umpiring at the bowler’s end. There is an appeal for a run-out at the batter’s end. Your colleague gives the batter out but you notice that the wicketkeeper had knocked the bails off with his body and that the ball did not hit the wicket. Can you over-rule your colleague and give the batter not out?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 3 years ago

No, but it would be sensible to immediately call ‘dead ball’ and go to your colleague and inform him what happened. He can then reverse his decision.