Can the batsmen run

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsCan the batsmen run
James whitehouse asked 10 months ago

in a situation where the ball is hit back to the bowler and the bowler were to throw the ball back towards the striking batsman’s end (in a threatening/attempt to run out type throw) but the ball missed the stumps and hit the keeper on his helmet (which is on his head) can the batsmen run then (like it’s overthrows)?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 10 months ago

The ball is not automatically dead in this situation so the batters can run overthrows. However, if either umpire believes that the keeper has been seriously injured, dead ball can be immediately called, which would prevent any runs being taken.