Batsman bowled off a no ball – but given out run out

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsBatsman bowled off a no ball – but given out run out
Andrew Potter asked 5 months ago

batsman was bowled by a no ball – however did not realise a no ball had been called and so had left his crease as thought he was out.  THe keeper picks up the ball and removes a stump and claims a run out  – The umpire at square leg gives the batsman out?  How can this be out if the batsman was not attempting a run (and you cant be out stumped on a no ball)?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 5 months ago

Hi Andrew
The square leg umpire was incorrect. A batter cannot be given out if he leaves the crease under the misapprehension that he is out bowled when a no ball has been called.