Ball striking batsmen while completing a run

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsBall striking batsmen while completing a run
Lewis Baker asked 6 months ago

Hi. 
If a batsmen strikes the ball to a fielder and runs, complete a single and as the fielder returns the ball and it strikes the batsmen is this a dead ball situation or  can the batsmen then complete another run?
thanks

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 6 months ago

Hi Lewis
This is not a dead ball situation and the batters can keep on running if they wish. However, most batters will not continue running in this situation as it is considered ‘not within the spirit of cricket’ to take advantage of this situation.