Above waist high no ball.

Ask the UmpireCategory: QuestionsAbove waist high no ball.
Kent asked 5 months ago

Does the “above waist high no ball” rule only apply at the crease?
For example: A batsman charges a few metres down the wicket, the bowler bowls a ball above waist height ball, the batsman avoids the ball but the ball hits the base of the stumps. Is the batsman out?

1 Answers
Kevin Staff answered 5 months ago

Kent
No, it doesn’t just apply at the crease. If the batter moves down the pitch to meet the full-toss, the square leg umpire has to decide if the ball would have passed the batter above the waist standing upright at his normal stance position at the batting crease. If yes, it is a no-ball, even if the ball goes on to hit the stumps.